Missing in Action

It’s been some time since I have felt up to giving some attention to this blog.  Sorry about that.  I’ve missed reading those blogs I follow, and those who follow me.  Things were quite dreary for some time.  I was diagnosed with hypothyroid and located a cyst in my breast all at the same time of dealing with the grief of my dad’s death.  I am now on thyroid medication, it has helped with the depression symptoms, but I am still quite tired.  Another round of blood work at the end of January will determine whether there is actually any stabilization of hormone levels.

ImageOn top of everything, we have had snow.  LOTS of snow.  It’s beautiful, serene, pristene, glorious.  It brings extra time in getting ready to go anywhere.  It involves brushing all of it off the vehicle, shovelling out the driveway, the sidewalk (otherwise they won’t deliver your mail), the steps into the house.  December broke the record for snowfall for that month, over 100 cms.  Compound those challenges with only seven hours of daylight and it is not surprising so many people suffer from S.A.D.D.

I didn’t sew much from September to December either.  The interest just wasn’t there.  I did manage to get a small banner completed for the lower hall at the church and two banners and two banner tops in yellow and white for the times in the liturgical year that call for those colours.  I will get pictures up in a future blog.  Promise. Image

This little project was originally a panel that had a variety of Christmas/winter images.  I fussy cut all the images and reassembled the Christmas ones with some filler colours.

Merry Ukrainian Christmas, btw.

Luke 2:10-1110 But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid; for see—I am bringing you good news of great joy for all the people: 11 to you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is the Messiah, the Lord.

9 comments on “Missing in Action

  1. I had thyroid cancer and I am fine … Be encouraged it will get better!

  2. Happy to have you back! I am sending some love through the internet-cable/ wifi
    Hug! Big hug! Another big HUG!!!
    Esther

  3. It does seem like everything is piling up, doesn’t it?
    The wonderful thing about being a Christian is the knowledge that no matter how difficult our journey; Christ is always with us. Your blog name reminds me of that message; and I hope you are feeling His presence as you work through the grief, and the health issues.
    I am one of those with the thyroid issues. Some times hyper, sometimes hypo. If they have put you on medications, watch your magnesium levels closely. Some of the medications “steal” your magnesium, and you need that to absorb your calcium and vitamin D. I added a supplement to my pile of vitamins. I get blood work done every 2-4 months to see where I am and my thyroid numbers are bouncing. I know it affects everything I feel like doing (or not doing).
    My prescription for you is to get out when you can stand the cold and soak up that sunshine. If it is too cold; find a sunny spot in a window, even if you have to drag a space heater over to it, and sit and read, soaking up the sunshine!
    Sending you prayers and hugs ~!~

    • antarabesque says:

      I am grateful that I have the presence of the Divine in my life as comfort and love. I am blessed. Thank you for your kind words of encouragement and advice. I was amazed by the number of people that came to me after I informed my congregation of the ‘stuff’ going on in my life. It reinforced the idea that by being vulnerable, God provides opportunities for us to be pastoral. It allows me to be even more grateful that Jesus was fully human and could understand our frailties and pain.
      I am grateful that I took on the responsibility of walking our dog every morning. It did get me out of the house, breath fresh air and pray in the splendour of creation. I sew in the sunshine, that is a big help too. Thanks too for the caution regarding magnesium. I’ll have to look into that. Blessings upon you for taking the time to comment. It’s good to be back.
      ~Ara

      • I have found that in dealing with the death of my first husband and my father, just months apart, I was given the words to share with others. I spent nearly 2 years following those deaths telling their stories. I can only say it was through sharing I found healing. It was as though the Holy One put the words in my mouth. Since that time, I have had people I spoke with come back and tell me how my experience helped them later deal with their own tragedy. God Bless you.

  4. I am glad to see you back. You are one of the few that I follow both in my WordPress reader AND by email, because I want to be sure I don’t miss any of your posts. They’re usually short but they strike a note that enriches my day – I think it’s your attitude of simplicity (like the Shaker simplicity, I mean that in a good way) and reflection that reaches out to me.

    • antarabesque says:

      I can’t adequately express how much you words have touched me. Thank you. I am glad to be back and that my musings have brought some riches your way. Blessings on you and yours, this day and everyday.

Leave a Reply

