Jelly Roll Race

Sometimes it’s a colour that catches the attention.  Sometimes it’s a fabric print.  Other times it is a technique that just begs to be tried.  Once in awhile it is a convergence of them all.  Such a convergence happened when I happened upon the fabric palette used in this project.  I always wanted to sew a jelly roll race quilt.  Jelly rolls are pre-cut strips of fabric 2 1/2″ wide and WOF (width of fabric 42-44″)  There is usually 40 strips in a roll.  A race is joining all the pieces together end to end.  Next fold the the long strip in half, right sides together and sew along one edge.  Cut at the fold, press open.  Fold in half, right sides together and repeat.  This is the finished project.  DSC_0336

I had been keeping my eye open for the perfect fabric.  Almost perfect, the polka dots don’t quite fit, but I love the rest.  I’ve decided to name it “Raindrops on Glass.”

This quilt is for my husband’s sister in-law who recently underwent surgery for ovarian cancer.  I really like the way the border and the back co-ordinated with the top.  I quilted it with a varigated thread that has all similar colours in wavy contoured lines.

DSC_0345DSC_0343

 

DSC_03411 Corinthians 9:24  Do you not know that in a race the runners all compete, but only one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may win it.

 

 

5 comments on “Jelly Roll Race

  1. It is really lovely. I actually like the dots fabric in this combo!
    Esther

    • antarabesque says:

      Thank you. I developed a strong affection for this quilt. I love the way the striped border and binding turned out. I love how well the flannel backing coordinated with the front. I’m very tempted to keep it, but it would also be perfect for the intended person. There will be more quilts.

  2. ozjane says:

    lovely, I have yet to make one of these…..tis on my list also.
    I love the Bible verses that start with ‘Do you not know’ or in the old KJV ‘what know ye not’!
    Some of my favorites.

  3. antarabesque says:

    I was pleased to see this draped over the bannister at my sister-in-law’s house when we were last there. I have since learned my mother-in-law is envious of it.

Leave a Reply

