Impulsive Quilting

Last year our congregation hosted the ecumenical Good Friday worship service.  Two weeks prior I had this great idea.  I didn’t have an appropriate stole for the service, typically the liturgical colour for Good Friday is black or grey. I felt I needed something because my Anglican colleague had informed his congregation if they didn’t attend there would be no Easter Eucharist for them.  After all there is no latter without the former.  (I just heard the soup guy in my head — No Wine for You!)  Those Anglicans have almost as much sense of decently and in good order as us Presbyterians, so I decided I would quilt a stole for the occasion.

I was well pleased with the results and it was completed in ample time.

Genesis 28:10-12   10 Jacob left Beer-sheba and went toward Haran. 11 He came to a certain place and stayed there for the night, because the sun had set. Taking one of the stones of the place, he put it under his head and lay down in that place. 12 And he dreamed that there was a ladder set up on the earth, the top of it reaching to heaven; and the angels of God were ascending and descending on it.

Success plants the seeds for other ‘great’ ideas.  When the Genesis story about Jacob’s ladder came up in the lectionary I remembered that there was a quilt block named – Jacob’s ladder.  Of course, I felt the impulse to quilt another stole, in green fabrics, since the reading occurs during ‘Ordinary time’.  I only had a week, and found myself blind stitching on the binding at 6:30 AM Sunday morning.  Next time I have a ‘great’ idea, I’ll give myself more time.

 

 

38 comments on “Impulsive Quilting

  1. The colors in the Jacob’s ladder stole are beautiful!

  2. stefpulls says:

    I never thought of quilting for lithurgy vestments, great idea and absolutely beatiful work! The green tones are amazing.

  3. Wow! Your Jacobs Ladder is very stunning, what a great job and I love the color combo. Both of these are just beautiful.

  4. There’s nothing like pushig yourself with a crazy deadline! I am glad you finished in time, but, like you, hope you have more time in future. 🙂

  5. Sandra Louise says:

    Very nice! I love the black and gray with the cross.

  6. Especially love the Jacob’s Ladder. its beautiful and such a cool idea.

  7. Pleun says:

    I’m working on a Jacob’s Ladder as well! That’s the first quilt I started and hopefully the second one I’ll finish 😉

  8. tarahasablog says:

    This is a very unique thing that you have done. I was just thinking if a preacher has this on in the pulpit, I might be so caught up in admiring it, I’d miss the word for the day. Just a silly thought. But, I love this.

    • antarabesque says:

      You might, or it might help your eyes from wandering and taking your thoughts with them. After seeing it a couple weeks in a row, you likely wouldn’t even notice ;). Thanks for visiting my blog, stop in any time.

  9. Wow! I love them both!!

  10. Chrissie says:

    Beautiful and inspirational. You must have been worn out after that with such a tight deadline….

    • antarabesque says:

      Actually, not worn out at all. Quilting is prayer for me. For me spirituality and creativity walk hand in hand. I can look at a finished project, whether needlework or quilting or a drawing and be reminded of the people who were on my mind or in need of prayer at that time. Of course if the piece is intended for someone in particular, prayers and thoughts for them provide the invisible layer of my and God’s love for them.
      Thank you for your kind compliments.

      • How wonderful to find someone else who thinks like this. I completely understand. I tell my students at the basting stage when we stroke the layers flat together that they will have touched every part of that quilt and that they are stroking their love into it. I like the thought that I can pray at the same time and ask the Lord to protect whoever snuggles under it. Thank you, you are an inspiration. Cx

  11. Kathi says:

    I love what you have done, and your thoughts on the prayer of quilting. I am going to forward your blog to a friend of mine who is a quilter and an Anglican priest in the UK. She will really appreciate both your work and your thoughts.

    • antarabesque says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments and for connecting me with a UK colleague. Blessings on your day.

      • Beth says:

        Hi. I am that Anglican priest and quilter! Actually (and sadly) there hasn’t been too much quilting going on for a while as I’m also doing a demanding full time teaching job – but – reading and seeing your lovely quilted stoles has reminded me, and inspired me, to pick it up again!
        Thank you for your prayer-filled inspiration! God bless you.

      • antarabesque says:

        Hi Beth, and welcome! Stoles are great little projects, they don’t take too long to complete. I usually make my blocks five to six inches wide and fifty to sixty inches long (determined by the height of the person).
        Thanks for stopping in. Happy Eastertide!

      • Beth says:

        Thank you for your kind reply.

        I’ll try your dimensions, thanks for the tip.

        Hallelujah, He is risen! 🙂

      • antarabesque says:

        He is risen indeed!

  12. sportsew says:

    Your stoles are gorgeous. Thank you for sharing the pictures.

  13. I love the Jacob’s Ladder stole, it is beautifully done in the perfect colors. My husband recently completed a Jacob’s Ladder throw he gave to a recently widowed friend, so he appreciates this as well.

  14. averyclaire says:

    Wow….what a super liturgical project. It turned out lovely. Beautiful..! Thanks for stopping in at my blog as well.

Leave a Reply

