My Father’s Quilt

In 2011 my father celebrated his 90th birthday.  Its a long time to accumulate everything you could ever want or need.  What could I possibly give him?

My latest ‘fun’ has been quilting.  He’s colourblind and sees red the best.  I settled on a beige/brown/red lap quilt that I managed to finish enroute as we travelled to Ontario for the gathering of the family.  It was a splendid time.

He seemed pleased with it.  I asked if he would have a use for it, napping on the couch possibly?  He protested that he didn’t nap on the couch (although the day following his party he did, a little weary from regalling his guests with stories and jokes all night perhaps?).  He intends to use it when he is keeping the fire in the wood box going.  That requires he sleep in the recliner in the basement.  The woodbox only has the capacity to burn for a half hour at a time.  My mom dismissed that option immediately.  “It will smell of smoke and get full of burn holes before you know it!”  Better that than sitting folded in a closet somewhere.

     I attempted free motion quilting for the first time with this quilt.  The effect turned out alright, considering I had the incorrect presser foot for my model of sewing machine and I had to use duct tape to keep the foot slightly off the surface of the quilt.  I’ll  know better next time!

2 comments on “My Father’s Quilt

Leave a Reply

