Ordination Stole – finished!

Remember this mess?DSC_0048

Shortly after Christmas I had a number of projects in various stages of completion.  I crossed another off the list this past weekend.  March 10th the lay missionary at Chetwynd Shared Ministry was ordained as a Minister of Word and Sacrament in the Presbyterian Church in Canada.  The Presbytery of Peace River decided to give her a stole as an ordination gift (at my suggestion).  I had the ‘top’ almost completed when I stumbled upon a blog that listed a block as ‘Fruits of the Spirit’, which coincided with much of the liturgy.  So I decided at almost the last-minute to use that block as the reverse for the stole.  Not surprisingly, this created a challenge to meet the deadline.  She was very pleased with the gift, having stated in the meeting prior to the service that she intended to petition the quilting group in her congregation to sew one for her.

This is the front of the stole.  It appears like an inordinate amount of work, but with a little thinking outside the box I managed to reduce the frustration of sewing countless little squares together.

    

This is the reverse.  In many ways it was a great project to use up scraps and pieces left over from other projects. It is the first project that I attempted free motion quilting on the entire piece.  It didn’t quite turn out as well as I would have liked.  The leaves were supposed to be palm branches.  Okay for the first time.  I’m confident I will improve.

Numbers 27: 15 Moses said to the LORD, 16 “May the LORD, the God who gives breath to all living things, appoint someone over this community 17 to go out and come in before them, one who will lead them out and bring them in, so the LORD’s people will not be like sheep without a shepherd.”  18 So the LORD said to Moses, “Take Joshua son of Nun, a man in whom is the spirit of leadership, and lay your hand on him. 19 Have him stand before Eleazar the priest and the entire assembly and commission him in their presence. 20 Give him some of your authority so the whole Israelite community will obey him.

3 comments on “Ordination Stole – finished!

  1. […] use up extra blocks I had from my very first quilt , scraps from the Ordinary Time banners and the Ordination Stole, strips and blocks from the Trip Around the World, and odds and sods from NM’s Snowball […]

  2. […] Quilt:    Ordination Stole […]

  3. […] has become a good friend to me since I was called to this congregation four years ago.  As before, I designed and quilted an ordination stole.  Today it is at the binding stage along with another […]

Leave a Reply

