In Planning Mode

My sewing machine is handicapped at the moment.  The light has burnt out and it is an hour drive to get another one.  It has severely limited the amount of quilting I can get done.  Frustrating to say the least.  I have been planning future projects instead.  Almost as frustrating because I can not begin them until the projects I have on the go are completed.

Dandelions

This one I am naming “Dandelions”.  I intend to use the fabrics above and sew it into a wall hanging for our spare bedroom.  It will go really well with the existing beadspread and drapes.  I got the idea when I drove up to the church this Sunday and noticed the grass starting to turn green along the building and the dandelions starting to bloom.  Always a cheery and welcome sight, at spring’s first blush.  Not so welcome as summer establishes herself.  I might change it to four block squares and scatter the colours more.  I’ll decide when I get that far and how ambitious I feel at the time.

Going to the fabric stores are too much of a temptation.  I see something I adore and cannot resist the temptation to purchase, without any thought as to how I am going to use it.  Here are some ideas for two patterns I couldn’t leave behind.

I love the large flowers that are somewhat stylized in their renditions.  The challenge then becomes finding a pattern that is conducive to the fabric and doesn’t detract from how fabulous it is.  Here is what I am considering.  I have to remember not to let my hair fall in front of the flash of the camera to avoid shadows.  The grouping on the right will probably be a modified nine block square in some way.

Finally I want to do a Sudoku quilt.  I’m thinking rainbow colours. 

4 comments on “In Planning Mode

  1. komnumep says:

    The sudoku quilt is such a neat idea!

  2. komnumep says:

    I came back to this entry and I had a small question – what do you use for quilt planning? Is it just MS Paint or a different program? I never thought to do that…

    • antarabesque says:

      In this case I used excel. It works fine if the quilt will be just squares. Doesn’t work at all with any blocks that have angles. I suppose a quilt design program may be the next consideration.

Leave a Reply

