First Bloom

Finally, the first bloom of spring in our garden.  The Icelandic Poppies have spread throughout the beds adjacent to the house.  She is a pretty thing, delicate, vibrant, defying below 0C night-time temperatures, persistent in the her ordained purpose to bloom and reproduce. I rejoice in the first bloom of spring.  She holds a promise of more to come.  She holds the wonder of beauty for no other purposes than to delight the eye and attract the bee.  She cannot hold her head still, nodding and winking to the whims of the wind.  She will not remain, with regrets to the gardener … she is a colour not preferred.  This place is designated for purple, and blue, ranging from white to the darkest, almost black.  There may be allowances made for oranges, as it is a complimentary colour to the favourites. Time and appeal will tell.  Stay tuned for updates.

The second affirmation of spring has also appeared.  There is a wood dove, or something very similar, moaning and cooing in the large tree across the street.  I hear her/him as the sun rises every morning and at various times through the day.  Give thanks to the Creator for spring!

Song of Solomon 2:12
The flowers appear on the earth, the time of singing has come, and the voice of the turtle-dove is heard in our land.

2 comments on “First Bloom

  1. komnumep says:

    Lovely post. A great reminder for myself to stop and appreciate the “little” things of the Lord all around.

    Have you found a light for your machine yet? I am always so antsy when my machine is out of commission. It seems like then I get my most inspired to sew – and I can’t!

    • antarabesque says:

      I did finally get a new light and am back at the sewing table. I have not been posting progress because what I am working on is a gift and I don’t want the recipiant to stumble on it. Progress is being made! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

