Making Short Work of It

I finished the Rainbow Log Cabin top.  Pictures coming soon.  I started to organize the left over scraps and in doing so, decided to throw together another project that has been on the bottom of my list for some time.  I wanted to use up extra blocks I had from my very first quilt , scraps from the Ordinary Time banners and the Ordination Stole, strips and blocks from the Trip Around the World, and odds and sods from NM’s Snowball quilt.  I began Friday and finished up the blocks Saturday night, almost …

DSC_0882I had no other plans for the fabric and wanted to get it out of my stash.  So this is what I ended up with, a Crazy Sampler quilt.  Since there was no plan or pattern, it sewed up really quick.

DSC_0884

Once I laid out all the blocks I came to the realization that I will have to make one more block.  I’m greatly pleased with the way that this one turned out, to the extent that I am keeping it for a less randomly constructed Sampler.  What is one more project?  Really.  DSC_0885

2 Corinthians 8:15

As it is written, “Whoever gathered much had nothing left over, and whoever gathered little had no lack.”
4 comments on “Making Short Work of It

  1. Wow; for a “random” project, this looks well planned. I love the idea of a sampler quilt. I keep saving block patterns to “try”. This really turned out lovely. It’s fun to pick up a small piece of fabric and be reminded of what you originally used it in!

    • antarabesque says:

      I was surprised when I started linking this post to others and how many there were!. The Rainbow Log Cabin quilt also has so many bits and pieces from other quilts that I am almost reluctant to give it away.
      I am not convinced I would do a sampler ‘quilt’, more likely a sampler wall hanging.
      No planning involved, other that alternate blocks has fabric from one project and the others had all green. Amazing how well it actually works.

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    Gorgeous! I love samplers, but I usually make blocks specifically for them. Somehow my color taste keeps changing so that blocks don’t go together like yours did. Or I don’t have enough “all over the map” to go completely scrappy. Working on that. LOL.

    • antarabesque says:

      Thanks so much. I had a big stash of green because of the banners we made for the church sanctuary. Otherwise I don’t think this would have been as successful. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

