Quilting Quandry

DSC_0902Aunt Nancy’s Favourite with William Morris fabrics quilt top is finished.  I am having a difficult time deciding on a border.  The sofa upholstery fabric is shown in the photo to the left, bottom.  I would like the red to pop since the wood of the sofa is stained quite dark and the flowers in the upholstery are so lovely.  However, the recipient wants the quilt to be mainly blues and greens (even though there is no blue in the upholstery – the colour is a little off, what you may see as blue is actually more green).  At the other end I place a few options.  I also have quite a lot of the dark beige fabric appearing in the block second from the top, second from the right.  Advice anyone?

DSC_0900

Repieced for a different direction.  Thank you for all your suggestions!

30 comments on “Quilting Quandry

  1. lalinsocal says:

    sorry, no advice, just wanted to say the quilt top is lovely. I’m looking forward to seeing what you choose.

  2. I like your second photo; with the narrow red and the wide green….3 borders is not too much……since it is going to someone else, perhaps they should pick….
    Mary / stitchinggrandma

  3. I like the little strip of red best too! You would only need a bit because of the addition of the green! These are complimenatary colours and so they strengthen each other. So more red would be overpowering. Hope this helps a bit.

  4. Elizabeth E. says:

    Put your intuitiveness to work. I like the red as I always love a quilt with contrast and that red does make the stars pop and sparkle. Lovely quilt–and aren’t you nice to make it and give it away!

    • antarabesque says:

      Thank you for your advice, I am leaning in that direction. I won’t be disappointed if the intended recipient doesn’t care for it, I’ll be more than happy to hang on to it 😉

  5. Beautiful quilt. All of your options look nice so I don’t think you can go wrong.

  6. […] suspected, the red had to come out of Aunt Nancy’s Favourite.  So one has now become two.  I am replacing the removed blocks with blue, green and […]

  7. Im with the narrow red strip..beige is too light me thinks 🙂 Stunning quilt though!

  8. I really like the red too. The shade of the green is perfect, but I agree about the scale. I see that you have some lovely darker greens in the quilt, if you have more of those, that could be an idea. Or maybe something like

    http://www.shabbyfabrics.com/Arabella-Rose-1314-22-by-Marianne-Elizabeth-for-RJR-Fabrics-P15420.aspx?categoryid=49

    It is hard to tell on the monitor I am on right now if that green is too blue, but you might check it out. 😉

    Beautiful work!

    • antarabesque says:

      Coincidentially, I have that fabric. However, this top, other than the beige/lighter blocks, is solely constructed with Barbara Brackman’s William Morris reproductions. The recipient of the quilt wants it to be green, blue, blue green, that’s why I have resorted to taking out all but two of the blocks that have red in them. Red is not an option, unfortunately, even though I love it.
      Thank you so much for your opinion, and for stopping in for a visit. I enjoyed your blog.

  9. ThreadTime says:

    Sounds like the quilt will be on or near the sofa? My instinct is to go with the green you show in the photo. It doesn’t fight the fabrics.

    Your quilt is beautiful. I do love William Morris fabrics.

    • antarabesque says:

      These fabrics are my favourite, Brackman has a new line coming out soon. Can’t wait! I’m going with the green. Thank you so much for your opinion and comment. Welcome!

  10. mandymunroe says:

    Haha, everyone has a view! It looks great. If she doesn’t want too much red than that thin strip will frame it. I like the light green, it will contrast with the dark wood, otherwise it may get too dark.

    • antarabesque says:

      Everyone’s view is interesting too. We bring so much of our own preferences to things, even when we think we are only taking specific requests word for word. I goofed on the red. I think I have it solved now. Thanks for your imput, it is appreciated since it gives me slightly different eyes to see with.

  11. Beautiful! I like the block on bottom row second from left …. Looks like fussy cutting?
    My preference is the red, but wondered if you have you tried a narrow green border with wide dark beige and red binding?

    • antarabesque says:

      No fussy cutting involved in this one. Aren’t coincidences fun? This project is currently resting on the bed in the spare room with new blocks. Update to come, one day. Thanks for your input, I hadn’t concidered a red binding.

  12. This is a gorgeous quilt! You have done a fantastic job of it! With regards to your border quandry here’s another idea for you to consider. The 1st light beige border seems to be drawing my eye to it. Maybe rather than an inch or so border you could either do a 1/4″ or 1/2″ peeper border of the light beige then your red. For the green it strikes me that maybe a mid green large floral might do the trick. Incidentally the upholstery fabric makes a perfect border! 🙂 Do you have anything similar to the upholstery fabric? Good luck with your borders I can’t wait to see it when it’s done 🙂

    • antarabesque says:

      I agree with you regarding the skinny beige border, a great idea. Once I get this re-pieced, if I ever do, I’ll have a new post and pictures up. Thank you so much for your kind words and suggestions.

  13. […] Nancy’s Favourite in William Morris (here is the original) fabrics has been finally repieced with a nod to the recipient’s preferences.  Most of the […]

  14. Thanks for ‘liking’ my blog about the Kaffe Fassett Exhibition in Lampeter Wales. I’ve enjoyed reading through your blog. ….fascinating. I particularly love your brilliant photos of quilts…one day I think I’ll have to make one…just a tiny one!

  15. quick2listen says:

    This is gorgeous I agree. Try auditioning darker blues until it pops!

Leave a Reply

