Garden Firsts

We have lived in this house for four cycles through spring now.  I love this house, and the beautiful flower garden has been an added blessing.  There has been a little apple tree in the back yard since we moved it, this is the first spring it has bloomed, and bloomed beautifully.

DSC_0113Three falls ago I planted alium bulbs.  I suspect the area is too dry for them, the leaves have turned brown before the buds have developed.  This is the first spring there has been an almost bloom.

DSC_0106One of my earliest memories of cultivated flowers at the farm is of the beautiful common irises my great-grandmother planted.  A member of the congregation graciously gave me some rhyzomes last spring.  I love their deep purple colour.DSC_0105

Finally, and this is not actually a first, but a surprise.  The first spring we were here the tulips that greeted the warmth were yellow and orange (not my favourite colour palette).  I dug them all up and gave them away to who ever wanted them.  Gradually I replaced them with purple and white.  This spring, three years later, this is what I get, volunteers, or maybe I should say escape artists.  Surprise!

DSC_0114Isaiah 61:11   For as the earth brings forth its shoots, and as a garden causes what is sown in it to spring up, so the Lord God will cause righteousness and praise to spring up before all the nations.

 

6 comments on “Garden Firsts

  1. Rhyzomes! I have those in my garden, inherited from the former homeowner. I did not know what they were called until now. Thank you!

  2. ozjane says:

    Interesting to live down under. I have just finished planting my bulbs and the Autumn leaves are well into falling. Quite a few still to go and lots of late roses this year.
    God is good in all seasons.

  3. I can almost smell your garden. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

