The Quilting Stash

DSC_0221 DSC_0223Self explanatory for anyone who is a quilter.  A little more organization needed.

17 comments on “The Quilting Stash

  1. ozjane says:

    I almost thought you had more than my decadent collection, which is all in crates but I am fearful that, despite the fact that I have barely sewn in the past year, my collection of crated on two walls might even have a little more of the dreaded stash. I even purchased a new crate yesterday….I did not think I had bought anything in the last year but have obviously called into one shop a few times in the last two years when they had good sales. At least the increased postage and rising costs of fabric have nipped my buying from the US of late, however still not up to our $28 a metre in Australia.

    • antarabesque says:

      Yes, but you can’t see the dozen bins of fat quarters (sorted by colour) under the bed, or all the quilt backs and boxes of fabric sorted according to planned projects in the closet!
      $28.00 a metre is crazy, almost twice what it is in Canada. Why is it so high?!

  2. Not fair! Your stash is so neat! Well, I’m retiring next month & can’t wait to go through my years worth of collected fabrics to organize, touch, feel, day dream. Love the way you’ve used the cubicles. Thanks for the good idea.

    • antarabesque says:

      You’re welcome! I’m a little bit behind with the organization, I wanted to be able to see it all to remind and dream. Congrats on your retirement! I can hardly wait. Thanks for stopping in.

  3. That looks wonderful–accessible, organized, inspiring.

  4. Elizabeth E. says:

    What a tidy place! I’ve often thought about wrapping fabrics onto small bolts like you (I have them folded in a cupboard) as you can really see the fabrics at a glance. Fun to see your stash!

  5. textisle says:

    It looks pretty organized to me! Are you using bolts cadged from a fabric store? I like the look and being able to see what you have. I have everything fat quarter size and up in bins sorted by colour and scraps in two bins (one for blues and one for everything else) but I’m starting to see the advantage of having the yardage on bolts and more visible. My bins are kinda (!) full and often I can’t find enough yardage in the colour I want.

    • antarabesque says:

      I cut cardboard from boxes that are half the size of a full bolt. They fit almost perfectly into the shelves. I find this method to be a huge advantage when planning a new project.

  6. ThreadTime says:

    Hah! You should see mine!! I love the way you have everything by color. Looking good.

  7. Your stash looks very organized. I’m impressed your fabric is on boards. If I were only that organized. Wow! I’ll have to post a picture of my space. 🙂

  8. komnumep says:

    Beautiful! When you purchase fabric, what amounts do you usually buy? Do you buy for just projects, or when you find something pretty?

    • antarabesque says:

      If I envision the fabric as a border I pick up between 2 and 3 metres. If it is something I think would go well in piecing I pick up between 1/2 to 1 metre, the latter if I want it in every block. Unrealistically, I too often buy fabric I think is pretty without a project in mind. Often they are the inspiration for future projects.

  9. […] would have worked better for the light background, but both those colours are not prominent in my stash, I care for […]

Leave a Reply

