WIP Wednesday – Binding

This Saturday our Presbytery will be ordaining a recent graduate from seminary.  I have been asked to preach the sermon in the worship service.  I consider it a great privilege.  The soon to be minister has become a good friend to me since I was called to this congregation four years ago.  As before, I designed and quilted an ordination stole.  Today it is at the binding stage along with another WIP that has just been quilted at the Quilty Guilt.  Imagine, two projects completed by the end of the month!

DSC_0234

The stole is on the right and middle, with a dove FM quilted on the reverse.  (note the use of my favourite fabric designer, Barbara Brackman’s Morris Apprentice)

 

The bible quote from Exodus seemed appropriate since it concerns the directions for constructing priestly garments.  One day I will have to design a stole that has “pomegranates of blue, purple, and crimson” all along the hem.

Exodus 28:32  It shall have an opening for the head in the middle of it, with a woven binding around the opening, like the opening in a coat of mail, so that it may not be torn.

3 comments on “WIP Wednesday – Binding

  1. Hi – Thanks for popping in to see me (at http://ja2da.com)

    I wondered what brought you by – then I remembered William Morris had figured in that post and all was explained.

    I know his name from having a wife who ‘does stuff’ – cross-stitch, crochet, knitting, etc. etc. She had a look over my shoulder while I was looking though your quilts – for a moment she though I’d suffered a conversion – I had to explain that you started it.

    David

    • antarabesque says:

      I enjoyed stopping in, great photos btw! I particularly loved the one of Impatiens glandulifera, in my home town we referred to them as Ukrainian Orchids. In the wild there is a simlar species that is orange, my dad called them Touch Me Nots. I love the way they explode when you brush past the ripe seed pods.

      I’m kinda in the conversion business 😉 so take care in what you refer to as “stuff”! 🙂

Leave a Reply

