On the Move

It has been a long time in the making.  At least two years in the praying and the asking.  I have been called to a new congregation.  It was finalized by Presbytery in May, the next day the house went on the market and we began packing it up in earnest.

The new church is much closer to family, in a city, no less!  That is amazing to me.   I always expected to remain in rural ministry.  Even though women have been ordained as Ministers of Word and Sacrament in this denomination for over fifty years, there is still an old boys’ club and patriarchal mentality that firmly hold the glass ceiling in place.  I am not sure if I am now above or below the glass, but I am thrilled to be here.  God is good.  There are so many opportunities for great things to be done, I am blessed to be in this place and looking into the future with excitement and enthusiasm.

Leaving my previous congregation was bittersweet.  There are a number of people I will dearly miss.  As a gift of leave taking for myself, I quilted a string quilt and asked everyone to sign it.  It lies draped over the back of a chair in my new office.

DSC_0362It reminds me of things accomplished, that people are not all cut from the same cloth, that united we are beautiful and serve a purpose, that even scraps and odd and ends are useful, and that errors and mistakes can only be seen with extremely close inspection (and in the larger scheme of things, don’t matter in the slightest bit).

DSC_0363

Isaiah 42:9  See, the former things have come to pass, and new things I now declare; before they spring forth, I tell you of them.

7 comments on “On the Move

  1. Ann says:

    Blessings to you in this new chapter!

  2. Congratulations. I am certain you will a blessing to your new congregation.

  3. komnumep says:

    So glad to see you post again. I hope things go well for you here. 🙂

  4. komnumep says:

    Oh, and the string quilt and meaning behind it is so perfect for this. Love it!

    • antarabesque says:

      Thanks so much! It is great to see you too. I used the string quilt as an illustration for my last “Children’s Sermon” in my previous congregation using some of the thoughts posted here. It was a perfect way of lifting them up.

Leave a Reply

